Robert Rowe
IHL Role:
Dr. Bob Rowe is the Executive Director of Brooks Institute of Higher Learning (Brooks IHL) within the Brooks Health System located in Jacksonville, FL. The IHL is the academic division of Brooks Rehabilitation and is responsible for the professional development for all clinical disciplines within the Brooks Rehab System of Care.

Dr. Rowe is the Executive Director of Brooks IHL at Brooks Rehabilitation located in Jacksonville, FL. In addition to developing and managing the current and future residency/fellowship programs within Brooks Rehabilitation, he assists in coordinating and promoting professional development opportunities for the Brooks clinical staff.

Education & Training:

Dr. Rowe received his PT degree at LSUHSC in 1985 and completed his Master of Health Science in PT in 1994 at LSUHSC.  He completed an Orthopaedic Manual PT Fellowship through the Ola Grimsby Institute (OGI) in 1999 and in 2001 completed his Doctor of Manual Therapy degree through the OGI.  In May 2007, Dr. Rowe completed his t-DPT through MGH IHP. Dr. Rowe was recognized as a Fellow of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Manual Physical Therapists (AAOMPT) in 2001.

Areas of Interest:

Dr. Rowe is a nationally recognized speaker in the areas of musculoskeletal patient management, advocacy, and professional issues/leadership.  He served as the President of the AAOMPT for 6 years (2009-2014). Dr. Rowe served on the APTA Board of Directors as a Director from 2015 to 2021 and entered into the role of President of the Academy of Orthopaedic Physical Therapy (AOPT) in 2022 and currently continues to serve in that role.

Academic & Professional Activities:

Previously, Dr. Rowe served a four year term on the APTA American Board of Physical Therapy Residency and Fellowship Education (ABPTRFE) that began in July 2008 and continued to serve as a site reviewer for the Accreditation Services Committee (a subcomponent of the ABPTRFE) until June 2015. He served as the Chair of the Orthopaedic Section’s Practice Committee from 2004-2010. He has served for 23 consecutive years as a delegate to the APTA House of Delegates for the Louisiana Chapter (2001-2004), the Orthopaedic Section (2004-2010), the Florida Chapter (2010-2015), the APTA Board (2015-2021), and the AOPT 2022-present.  Dr. Rowe has served on the APTA Manipulation Task Force from 2001through 2015 and served on the APTA POPTS Task Force from 2004-2007. In 2009 Dr. Rowe completed 5 years of service as an appointed member to the APTA Advisory Panel on Practice and served as the Chair for the final year.  Prior to serving as the President in AAOMPT he served as the Co-chair of the Standards Committee (2002-2006) as well as for a term as Vice-president (2006-2009). Dr. Rowe has served on the LPTA Board as the Vice-president (2004-2006) as well as on the FPTA Board as a Regional Director (2007-2010) and the Speaker of the FPTA Assembly (2010-2014). He began service as a member of the APTA Awards Sub-committee for selection of the McMillan and Maley Lecture awards in 2013 and completed that service in 2015.

In 2023 Dr. Rowe was recognized by APTA with the distinguished honor of being a Catherine Worthingham Fellow of the APTA. Dr. Rowe is a recipient of the APTA Lucy Blair Distinguished Service Award (2011 – American Physical Therapy Association award); the Dave Warner Distinguished Service Award (2006 – Louisiana Physical Therapy Association); the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center Award for Excellence in Research, Education, Patient Care, and Community Outreach (2004 – LSUHSC); and the Arcadia University Charles Magistro Award (2017 – Arcadia University).

Educational Material: